Things Some Conservative Men Think Makes a Man Gay

I have to ask: are you guys ok?

Matt Mason
3 min readMar 12, 2024

--

Photo by Candice Picard on Unsplash

Twitter isn’t exactly the hotbed of nuance and reasoned debate. Even before Etom Fusk took over, people would pick fights with strangers over literally nothing and get their energy from putting words in other peoples’ mouths.

I left in autumn 2023 and haven’t looked back.

But a post drew my attention when someone posted a screen grab on Threads.

Now, call me a boring old traditionalist, but I’m of the rather old-fashioned view that if a man self-identifies as gay, that means he is attracted only to men. Is that a completely unreasonable assumption to make in 2024?

But according to one guy, men who are attracted to a certain type of woman are also gay…

Unfortunately and annoyingly (probably due to backlash), he has now deleted the tweet. Luckily, I found the video in question. He tweeted it with the caption “men attracted to tomboys are ghey”

--

--

Matt Mason

Creatively curious lifelong writer. I use Medium to discuss asexuality, childfree living, Doctor Who, and sometimes even politics - not all of it serious.